Each action and group listed on the Search Result Actions page provide an action menu with commands for acting on a selected item. As usual in SharePoint, the action menu appears when you hover the mouse pointer over the action item or group name; the name then acts like a drop-down list with some combination of the commands summarized below.

This entry appears for actions that have been inherited and not (yet) customized. Select this entry to capture the currently inherited settings and break the inheritance, which means that changes made for this action higher up in the hierarchy will no longer affect it at the current level or below. This entry will also bring you to the page for configuring the selected action (see “Creating and Configuring Search Result Actions”).
This entry appears for actions that are either defined or customized at the current level. Select this to open the page for configuring the selected action (see “Creating and Configuring Search Result Actions”).
Select this entry to create a new result action that initially has the same settings as the selected one. This opens the Copy Search Result Action page, which enables you to configure the new copy (these settings are the same as those offered when you edit or create a new result action). You must at least assign a new and unique ID to the new copy.
This entry appears for action groups that are either defined or customized at the current level. Select this to open the page for configuring the selected action group (see “Working with Action Groups”).
This entry appears for action groups that have been inherited and not (yet) customized. Select this entry to capture the currently inherited settings and break the inheritance, which means that changes made for this group higher up in the hierarchy will no longer affect it at the current level or below. This entry will also bring you to the page for configuring the selected group (see “Working with Action Groups”).
In result lists, actions will be listed in the same order as they are shown on the Search Result Actions page. To rearrange the actions within a given group, click on a target action and select one of these entries. To move a group, click on a target group and select one of these entries. Note that non-customized, inherited actions cannot be moved.
If you would like to disable a result action temporarily, or suppress it for just a few branches of your hierarchy, select its Hide Action entry (this entry is only active for result actions that are not currently hidden). Hidden result actions will show “(Hidden)” after their name on the Search Result Actions page (e.g., “Author (Hidden)”) and will also show grayed icons in the Inherited column. Hidden result actions will not appear to users at the level at which they are marked as hidden, nor will they appear for any of the sites below that branch of the hierarchy (including sites for which a newly hidden result action previously had local overrides). Hidden result actions will furthermore not appear to administrators on the Search Result Actions page for any of the sites below the level at which a given result action was hidden.
To reactivate a hidden result action, find the site level at which the result action is marked as hidden, open its action menu and select the Show Action entry (this entry is only active for result actions that are currently hidden). The result action will once again be visible to all users and administrators at that level and below. If local overrides existed for a lower-level result action before it was hidden, then those overrides will be reinstated when the result action is again set to be shown.
This entry appears for customized, inherited actions. Select this entry to discard local overrides and re-instate inheritance, which means that this action will once again track configuration changes made to its parent.
This entry appears for customized, inherited action groups. Select this entry to discard local overrides and re-instate inheritance, which means that this action group will once again track configuration changes made to its parent.
This entry appears only for actions and action groups that are defined at the current level. Select it to delete the selected action or group. Note that if the deleted action or group has been customized at a child level, then that item will remain at that child level and will no longer be marked as inherited. Note also that when you delete a group, all of the actions belonging to that group at the current site level will also be deleted, though the group may still exist at lower levels if it has been customized with extra actions there..

Feedback

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Post Comment