To delete a Search Box scope group, you must work using the Search Box Scopes page for the site level at which you defined the group—you cannot delete groups inherited from a higher level. When you delete the group, all scopes that belong to that group and are defined at the same site level will also be deleted. However, if new scopes were added to the group at a child site level, then the group will remain available at that level and the scopes defined at that level and below will remain. To delete a scope group:
1. Go to the Search Box Scopes page for the site level at which at which the group was created (see “Search Box Settings and Inheritance”).
2. Click on the target group name and select Delete Group from the action menu.